My EOS Journey Diary

Hi Friends,

Since I am new to EOS, I thought I can journal my journey. Maybe others can learn from my victories and my mistakes. I’m sure there will be comedy involved as well.

First, let me give my notebook specs:

As noted before, I came from the Pop!OS realm and I am sort of familiar with the Linux multiverse.

I am not an expert by far…I would say I am sorta immediate-ish. I stick with situations for a while to figure out why something doesn’t work. If I tap out, the only reason why is because I have exhausted all options.

Let’s start off officially making today Day 1 (even if I have ran EOS for two days now).

Day 1:

Since the borking of PopOS, I needed to install Signal (available as a Flatpak). I followed the instructions from both Discovery EOS webpage and Flatpak webpage.

The result?

:partying_face: Success! :partying_face:

The other win today? I connected my Bluetooth speaker following the instructions from Discovery and I got this to work too! Woo Hoo!

On Pop OS, I also had Vivaldi, Steam, Thunderbird. I may tackle those installations soon.

I’m also gearing up for the ginormous gaming challenge that will be posted in the Gaming section. Stay tuned for that if you are interested. This involves trying to get a game work that I ran on Lutris and now it is not. Fun times. Le sigh.

Thanks for reading!

• RoRo
7 Likes

I only have one question. How could anyone bork PopOS? :laughing:

4 Likes

Nice!
honka_animated-128px-41

No problemo, just use portable wine (version which works with specific game)

Also read the guide if it helps Linux gaming [Guide] :upside_down_face:

2 Likes

LTT did it in front of millions of viewers :rofl::rofl::rofl:

5 Likes

@RokettoPanchi Linus, is that you? :rofl:

2 Likes

Don’t underestimate my borking abilities with Linux. :sweat_smile:

1 Like

It’s…complicated. Le sigh. :pensive:

Vivaldi and thunderbird are a piece of cake to install with pacman. :wink:

1 Like