Getting into Music and Audio

I’ve started playing the piano and am wanting to dabble into song recording, mixing, music apps, synth apps, etc. I am completely new to it all. I picked up a music bundle at Humble Bundle that included Mixcraft 8 and 9 and was thinking of installing that to start with. Unfortunately, its Windows only so looks like I will need Wine.

Are there any musicians on here who can recommend their setups and what to install to get everything up and running smoothly. This is my first adventure into music and audio, so I really appreciate the help.

3 Likes

Depends on your use case…

I use Bitwig as a native linux daw…there are others (Reaper , Ardour, etc…)

https://github.com/robbert-vdh/yabridge - For running windows VST’s

You may or may not want to set up Jack (with something like https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/studio-controls-git/ or qjacktl)

If you don’t need what jack brings, you can just stick with ALSA or pulse (but I find Pipewire to do better if your game)

I believe soon pipewire will be the easiest method…but if your stressing things with Jack perhaps it is not quite there (from teh commit pace it will be soon).

Free synths like Surge and Vital are good for a start and have linux native versions

3 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply. I think I will start with one of the Linux Native apps, since I want to spend time actually recording and mixing and not a ton of time trying to get it to work. Bitwig looks nice, but is a bit out of my price range as I am just starting.

Yeah Bitwig is nice, epsecially for experimental/electronic stuff.

Something like Ardour, lmms, Reaper , Zrythm etc are probably worth looking into.

There is also VCV rack and a number of free synths in the arch repos

1 Like

Thank you. I am gonna give Ardour a go to start with and see how that goes. Will also check out the synths. VCV looks pretty cool, though I don’t pretend to understand what they all do

1 Like

Nice.

Have fun! :slight_smile: