What to do after install

im completely new to Linux and i was wondering are there any apps/things i should install to make my life easier

1 Like

Hi and welcome to the forum @OctoTV that all depends on what you are going to be using your PC for. There is a section in the Welcome app that has some common apps in it that people install after. Also have a read of this How to run a stress-free EndeavourOS and check out the wiki. And most of all don’t be afraid to ask for help.

5 Likes

thank you so much for the help ill check out that link now

1 Like

You’re welcome

so i done most of this am i good to go now or are there some other things that should be done

Not really unless you run into issues. Sit back and enjoy your new install :grinning:

1 Like

Use whatever apps you need.

1 Like

EndeavourOS comes fully operational out of the box. There is nothing to do after install, except use your computer normally.

2 Likes

The one thing missing from that guide that is very useful, IMO, is setting up automated snapshots and installing btrfs-assistant (assuming you are using btrfs as your filesystem).

btrfs-assistant is a great tool for managing system snapshots and rolling back to a previous state, should something bork your system.

The steps required are outlined here:

Take your time and read documentation, articles in ArchWiki on system and package management etc.

Get to know your system and how it is build. Arch is first and foremost a do-it-yourself distribution but the forum here is to help whenever you need help or have questions.

1 Like

generally speaking, no, EndeavourOS offers all the tools for general operations right out of the box.
However, if you have a specific goal you want to achieve, then you may require additional software. Everything boils down to your needs or desire to explore new options: office work? coder? audio production? video? photographer? designer? gamer? and so on.