What is your "primary use" of this brilliant OS?

Everyone chooses a Distro based on what they are gonna use it for.

Some are gamers and require top-notch hardware support. Others are programmers who need the latest & greatest software releases. And some are simply trying to get away from the proprietary grasps of MS and Apple.

How about you? :slight_smile:

I’m a front end web developer. Mostly static work (html,css,js) and learning Vue + Nuxt. Currently enrolled in a Udemy bootcamp to further my knowledge and skillset :wink:

1 Like

I always have several Linux distributions on multiple computers. I am a retired software engineer but testing Linux distributions and also using them for everything has been something I’ve been doing for at least 25 years.

Even though software was a professional thing for me, using Linux on my own terms has always been a relaxing thing in contrast to work.

4 Likes

I guess I am a casual user who wants to

and would like to live a private and secure digital life as much as possible.

I like the KISS philosophy of Arch and the fact that I can build up a system from scratch.
(well almost :wink:)

In some (distant) future, I really would like to try LFS to deepen my understanding of how a Linux system is build up.

8 Likes

My usage is fairly ordinary, it did start out as the common “wanting to get away from micro$oft”
but has soon afterwards developed into liking what linux does much more than windows.
Switching back and worth turned into distrohopping until i found the one, the only, the appreciated, the friendly community driven, endeavouros.

Anyway, from “getting away” i am doing all of my free time computing here(gaming, internet surfing, occasional tinkering with software) , whatever i might have missed from windows, i adapted to it here, whatever doesnt work properly on linux (but does on windows) is something i now no longer have a need for.

6 Likes

Testing and emergency backup.