Today I learned

So, I thought it might be fun and insightful to have a thread to share something we recently learned. Could be Linux related, or not :slight_smile:

To start things off, I’ll give an example.

I’ve been using Linux since the early 2000s and using vim since the beginning. It was only maybe 4 or 5 years ago that I learned (and having been using vim for 10+ years at that point) that when I wish to save my changes and exit I do not need to do :wq but can instead simply do :x mind = blown :joy:

14 Likes

Nothing mind-blowing today yet, but i’ve learned that Arch (i use 99,99% Arch btw :face_with_monocle:) hosts file lives here:

/etc/hosts

Which is nice to know :yum:

4 Likes

BTW: In that other OS it lives in \windows\system32\drivers\etc which is handy to know if you want one of those machines to hook up to a local webserver. (In current versions you will need to operate a text editor as Administrator in order to edit it.)

4 Likes

Today I learned how to resize (change the width of) the menu in Cinnamon DE.

:partying_face:

2 Likes

I found that out the hard way when Arch put samba v4 in the repositories. I took me roughly eight hours to figure out that Windows has a hosts file also. Boy they sure hid that one well. Under drivers?

Pudge

2 Likes

Some new :uk: term :upside_down_face:

1 Like

Poppycock is, by definition, absolute twaddle. frog_monocle

4 Likes

Sounds a load of tosh to me, mate.

1 Like

Again, not something I learned recently but it was something I learned after using Arch for a long time. If you want to see what files are contained in a certain package installed on your system you can do the command pacman -Ql package_name

If you have a physical package (say something you’ve just built from the AUR) you can instead run pacman -Qpl package_name.tar.xz (or whatever the extension is now, I forgot :joy:)

2 Likes