The Tardy Way™

I’m not a Linux guru, and I’m certainly not a genius (just ask my girlfriend, she’ll strongly confirm that last point :laughing:). But I have never had any problems with my Linux systems.

I’ve been using Linux since roughly 1994 (starting with Debian and Slackware); first it was an OS I installed and visited now and then, then I began using it pretty regularly (with copious distro-hopping) around 2008, and finally I went all-Linux in 2013.

In all that time, through various different distros, I have never had a distro break on me. To the best of my recollection, I have never had an unbootable Linux system (but I have had unbootable Windows systems a few times, oh yes). And I have never run any sort of system backup (although, obviously, I back up any important data to external drives).

My longest-running installation is SolydXK, with my original 2013 install still working great today (it was my #1 daily driver until late 2019, upgraded-in-place via their upgrade scripts through the years). I have a Debian Testing install that’s been running for 6 years, I ran a single Manjaro installation for almost 5 years, and I now have multiple Arch installs, with the oldest approaching the 5 year mark. No problems with any of them (beyond the usual and expected stuff, like a bug in KDE here and there on the rolling distros).

I’m going to share with you what has worked for me; take it or leave it as you will, but it’s definitely kept my systems running smoothly.

I call it The Tardy Way™. It consists of 2 simple rules:

1 - Don’t do anything stupid

2 - Don’t try to turn a distro into something it isn’t