System freezes randomly

Since installing EndeavourOS on my computer I have been experiencing frequent freezes. I haven’t identified any specific conditions for them to happen, they seem to be totally random. The image and audio just freezes, not reacting to any input, the disk activity LED on my computer stops blinking and sometimes a strange buzzing from inside the computer case is heard.
I have ignored this issue for a few months but it seems to be getting more frequent so I decided I have to do something with it. I’m not an expert, still a newbie (although using Linux for about 13 years now) so I’ve tried some solutions I’ve found on Arch Wiki and this forum. The first guess was GPU drivers so I disabled DPM in boot options (solution from Arch Wiki). That didn’t work. Then I tried this: EndevourOS randomly freezing - #5 by buffy That also didn’t work.
I still don’t know if this is a hardware issue or a system issue so would you please be so kind and help me solve this problem?
Some logs that may be useful: https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/V4P5SyVgdB/

Some initial steps:

1. Update your BIOS;
  2. Try a number of different kernels (including linux-lts);
  3. Test your RAM;
  4. Test your disk;
  5. Ensure all components are seated correctly;
  6. Run a CPU burn test;
  7. Check temperatures and clean fans and vents;
  8. Check your power supply is providing a clean and consistent supply, consider investing in a spike protector or UPS.

Without more information people will likely just repeat the same things back to you - you need to help others help you.

2 Likes

I’d add to @jonathon’s recommendations also that i’d exclude anything i possibly could - disconnect every unnesessary components, leaves just:

• PSU
  • Motherboard
  • CPU
  • 1 plank of RAM
  • If you have CPU with video output - use it for initial test, instead of dedicated GPU
  • System drive

If you check all this components and they’re fine - add other ones one by one, and see what fails.