Stability of the Plasma version?

Hi, I am planning to switch from Xfce back to Plasma. I have been using Plasma with Mjro for almost 3 years and I really enjoyed it. However, the problems with the Mjro version were just too many in the long run. It was that I was looking forward to every major update with stomach ache. You have set up your Plasma system so that everything fits to your satisfaction and then you get an update and you can start all over again. Hardly any stability. That’s why I switched to Xfce and grudgingly accepted it. The reward was a pleasant stability. When I switched to EOS, I immediately kept Xfce. But now I’m itching to give plasma a chance again. My question is simple: How stable is the EOS version of KDE Plasma? I don’t mind occasional repairs, but that shouldn’t become an end in itself.

Mixed bag, as you may know Plasma is not 1000% stable as is…
So on EndeavourOS you’ll get both bugs and their fixes a little faster :slight_smile:

Conclusion: If you don’t use Deepin as DE - you’re good :rofl:
Plasma is fine

2 Likes

Oh, it does not have to be 1000%, 101% would be enough for me …

4 Likes

It feels exactly the same as it has for me for over a year of use on Manjaro/Arch/Endeavour. If you couldn’t handle it on Manjaro, realistically, you’re probably going to have the exact same experience here.

1 Like

Just another echo of what everyone else said…

Do you mean me or @fbodymechanic?

@keybreak and @fbodymechanic.

I would argue it feels…snappier on EOS. I am not sure why that is.

@anon14644943
The only thing that i know isn’t working is the switch desktop. You have to put your cursor on it for it to work. The right click on the desktop hasn’t worked for a long time.

I must say, this is one bug I’ve never ever experienced. Very interesting.

Maybe? I think my computer is plenty fast regardless. But then again, I have mostly used Arch KDE, not Manjaro KDE, so I could see where that may have a different feel since EnOS is nearly Arch.