Magazines?

So I have been helping a mate to restore and renovate a bookshop that he bought ( it had closed due to the covid lockdown), loading EOS onto his till computer :wink: and found that he is stocking the Linux Format magazine from the UK. This in a town of 40k, in New Zealand. And it made me wonder who would buy it?
Surely those who use Linux already have the internet?

So my questions to you all, are would you buy such magazines, and why?

Not regularly, but when I stumble upon a Linux mag in an airport store Iā€™d take one. Because why not? Eventhough the DVDs that come with them are outdated, same as the info inside the mag, and as an Archy user Iā€™m not interested in other distros anyway.
But all the n00b stuff is surely a fun read and makes me feel wise and old. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I personally donā€™t buy physical magazines any more as I have a Scribd subscription which means I have access to a multitude of magazines including Linux format via that app.
So, I see no need to purchase magazines when I can just read them through Scribd :nerd_face:

However, like Orca, I do enjoy reading them because after reading the last 4 editions. Some of their ā€œn00b stuffā€ was of interest to me and Iā€™ve actually learnt some stuff from that magazine.

1 Like

Since internet, countless e-books and man-pages - i donā€™t see why really, except nostalgia :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I donā€™t buy them anymore nowadays. Nevertheless I used to buy them regularly some time ago. The most interesting parts for me was the presentation and test of programs. A lot of them (at least to me) unknown. A lot of them were very new and for that reason quite unknown in the community. I also used them to create my own Wiki. Iā€™m more the type of paper than online reader.