I don’t know how I ended up with Endeavour OS

Hi everyone, just been using EnOS for about 3 weeks and it is stable! Let me explain… I’m sort of an Arch newbie :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

I use linux at work and have been doing so 100% for about 6 years now. I am a researcher.

I stopped distro hoping after a while using ubuntu then manjaro. However, I moved to a rural place recently where internet is bloody slow and unstable (I am talkin from 200Mb/s to 5Mb/s). I therefore tried to find a distro that does not require too many resources and hoped for less frequent updates. I went literally trough a distro and desktop hoping session odyssey:

Lubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Ubuntu, PopOS, Debian, Arch, Mint, Fedora 33, then back to manjaro. :wink:

I am not going to rant, each of these distro is great but was missing something or had something that annoyed me for productive workflow, or I broke something.

Then I saw the light! I recalled having used Antergos, a way to easily install Arch on several computers with ease, minimal but not too minimal. I used this distro for few months but then it broke during an update, then I realized Arch may be too complex for me. Fast forward few years later.

There I was, I read few articles about Endeavor OS. Tried it, I was intrigued, simplistic, stable and the welcome menu prompted me to dive a bit more into the terminal. I was excited somewhat, but a bit scared using it for work, would it be stable enough? Would I need to constantly update this rolling release distro?

To conclude, I am absolutely impressed, I think I found what I was looking for! It still works, its stable, its fast, I can install all research programs I need, even some necessary programs to collaborate (zoom…), I had absolutely no crashes, what a blast! And to go back to the beginning of the story, I update about twice a week, and the updates are not that large. Who would have thought I would end up with a rolling release distro…