How do you guys learn linux?

I felt like a complete noob about linux and just reading the arch installation guide already made me dizzy (which is pretty much why I installed endeavouros).

So how do you guys learn about linux? I felt like everyone here understand it except me.

it’s 2 months since I installed linux (pop-os) on actual hardware for the first time so I want to learn more about it.

3 Likes

The best way to learn Linux is to use it. Not as a side project, but for everyday use. When you hit problems, learn how to overcome them. The learning will come naturally that way.

Beyond that, here is some advice:

• Be patient - You can’t gain the knowledge overnight. Some of have been using Linux for 25 years. Of course we know more than someone who has only been using it for 2 months.
  • Read troubleshooting posts - A great way to learn is to read daily/weekly all the posts here where people have problems and what the solutions are. It sounds overwhelming but there actually aren’t that many. A huge portion of the daily post volume here is in the lounge, not troubleshooting. Overcoming issues is the best way to learn in my opinion. By reading how others overcome the issues you will accelerate your learning.
  • Command line - Try to do more tasks via the command line. This is another good way to learn more about your system little by little.
  • Don’t re-install - The tendency to reinstall when you have problems is something that is built into us from using other OSes. However, you will learn way more by fixing your problems instead of reinstalling.
27 Likes

Two months isn’t long, when I first started I bought a big book, you can probably just watch videos today but nothing beats actually doing. So try things out, ask questions and enjoy the experience. :slight_smile:

4 Likes