How do you deal with high dpi on Linux?

Hi folks!

Its more a general question, not sure if this is lounge or newbie talk but has been bugging me for the past few weeks. :thinking:

how do you deal with high dpi 4k screen laptops attached to a lower resolution dpi monitor? It boils down to increasing global scaling on the laptop but then everything appears quite large on the external monitor.

I use Endeavor OS with kde plasma desktop but I also tried alternatives including xfce and gnome, none was really satisfying to me. I scaled down my laptop now to 1080 dpi to avoid dealing with it.

Specifically, which DE do you think can best deal with high dpi settings and do you have a solution where resolution can be adapted/scaled for laptop vs monitor separately?

Finally, I have not yet installed the nvidia driver since I am relatively new to EnOs and am using it for work. Dont want to break my install, need more time to experiment over weekends…

I have a hybrid graphic card, currently using the built in intel. Not sure that installing that nvidia driver would give me more options to deal with this problem would it?

Thanks for any inputs.

1 Like

I haven’t experienced it myself, but I think your issue is along the same lines as the one below:

There’s some good tips and tweaks in that thread, but in skimming it, the OP ended up just using cinnamon DE it looks like. Hopefully this is of some help.

1 Like

Thanks for that! Completely forgot about cinnamon DE :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

I recall having checked the Arch wiki too but nothing really solved the problem on kde or xfce, which are my personal preference.

Just surprised that cinnamon would have that option and kde plasma (advanced DE?) doesnt have that option. Need probably to try it, like to use my full screen estate :face_with_raised_eyebrow: