Has anyone used AwesomeWM?

Has anyone installed EndevourOS with no DE but only AwesomeWM?

If so how much RAM does the OS use all together?

I just started playing with Awesome a couple of days ago. According to top I’m using 157M of ram. Of course that includes urxvt and top running, but it is similar to what I get with spectrwm which is what I normally use. Awesome feels a bit quicker to respond however.

1 Like

Wow that is quite little. Did you do htop after you modified it or did you do it in awesome's vanilla form?

Other than a couple of keybinds it is vanilla. That is also with lightdm enabled. I usually use a bit less ram because I don’t use a DM with just spectrwm.

Also, I’m using top for my info. Htop will show a bit higher. Something about how they each calculate things differently.

Cause when I did htop I was getting around 400 MB of RAM. So what is exactly lightdm and what is a DM?

OH I see is top built into Endeavour?

Yes. Top is installed with Endeavor.
LightDM is what allows you to log into your desktop when the system is first installed. There are other destkop managers (DM) available, but that is what comes with Endeavor. I typically use one window manager so don’t need to switch often, so I have made changes so that I can disable it.

1 Like

Display Manager.

Memory usage changes vastly between devices. A lot of factors affect how much memory a specific setup needs to run smoothly.

Did you remove some packages or something to reduce your RAM usage as well?

I see, that explains why on VM it uses less RAM compared to runing it on my actual PC.

Yeah. As I went to bed last night I realized that sleepiness was affecting my communication skills. Started to wonder what else I might have said that was wrong :neutral_face:

1 Like