Brother DCP-J105 drivers

Hi, guys!
In order to install my printer drivers in Linux I use to go to the Brother website and choose the .rpm or .deb package and follow the instructions using the command line, but I’m not quite sure which one to pick nor how to install them in EndeavourOS since this is my first time using an Arch-based distro.
Could you please give me a hand on this?

-Alex.

EDIT: I’ve just followed this guide for installing a .deb package. So, after installing the driver using yay, I’m not able to print since I’m stuck on “Getting printer information…”:

The drivers are in aur:

paru brother-dcpj105   --nouseask --sortby name
1 aur/brother-dcpj105 3.0.0-668 [+1 ~0.00]
    CUPS driver for Brother DCP-J105 printer
:: Packages to install (eg: 1 2 3, 1-3):

Just yay -S brother-dcpj105 will do it.

I did that, but now I’m stuck on “Getting printer information…” as you can see on the picture above.

Oops, sorry, was distracted, missed the edit :blush:

Looks like your printer is not talking to computer.
If you haven’t already done this:
$ pacman -Q | grep cups (to verify cups and cups.pdf are installed)
$ sudo systemctl enable cups.service
$ sudo systemctl start cups.service

Now go to your favorite browser and enter in the URL line
localhost:631

To see if communications with the cups server are OK.

cups

If you get this screen, you can install the printer in the browser, or go back and try the GUI you were using.

Pudge

1 Like

Thanks, Pudge!

[alejandro@alex-linux ~]$ pacman -Q | grep cups
cups 1:2.4.0-4
cups-filters 1.28.10-2
lib32-libcups 2.4.0-1
libcups 1:2.4.0-4
[alejandro@alex-linux ~]$ sudo systemctl enable cups.service
[sudo] password for alejandro: 
Created symlink /etc/systemd/system/printers.target.wants/cups.service → /usr/lib/systemd/system/cups.service.
Unit /usr/lib/systemd/system/cups.service is added as a dependency to a non-existent unit printers.target.