Arm install from Welcome

I have a brand new Raspberry Pi 400. This is my first attempt at an Arm device. I have booted on the micro sd card that came with it and was able to update the Pi OS that was preloaded and then i set to boot from USB. As far as i know this is just Noobs that comes on the preloaded micro sd card. It is my understanding that you are supposed to download the Pi imager and load Raspberry pi on another micro sd or other device. That’s a project for later as i want to load Endeavour Arm. Now I’m trying to figure out how to load Eos Arm onto an external SSD drive that i can boot from. I’m not understanding the process. I booted on the live ISO and ran the Arm install Imager. But I’m not sure what that did. It shows a file system on it which i selected btrfs. Other than that I’m not sure what’s what? I know I’m Arm illiterate. :grin:

I don’t have a SSD but @Pudge does, I ll let him guide you on it.

1 Like

Nothing came up to show me anything for a desktop so obviously I’m not doing things right?

You should see this screen if you burnt the image on the SSD the correct way on the Live ISO

Edit:
On the first boot

I’m misunderstanding? I booted on the live ISO and then i used Welcome to image the External SSD. Is that not the way?

I haven’t tried booting on the external SSD yet.

Edit: Plugged it in and tried booting on it but nothing comes on the screen.

Correct, boot the x86_64 machine on the live ISO. In welcome click on the “Install Endeavouros ARM” button.

When the script runs, you choose file system type, and then it does a lsblk command and shows which devices are active. Choose the target USB SSD that you want to install to.

When it finishes, power down the x86_64 machine and remove the External USB SSD.