Your "Plan B" Backup System?

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to Arch Linux and I want to try and make the switch long-term to EndeavourOS, learning along the way. I have tried it in a virtual machine before and briefly on my system. I love this project, however the volatility of Arch scares me at the moment since I am inexperienced. I would like to learn how to setup my system in such a way that, if all else fails, I can be back up and running quickly to continue using my computer.

I would love to learn more about your personal system for keeping your files/data safe & secure, considering the possibility that an update may cause issues beyond repair and may require a fresh installation. Do you keep your data backed up to the cloud? Do you back up your data to external hard-drives? Do you use snapshots?

If something was to break, what steps would you take prior to deciding that a fresh installation is needed?

I will appreciate any info you could give me on this topic. Thank you!

Full data backup once in…whatever i feel like time (at least once in half a year), on hard-drives outside of my machines.

I just hash it, move it with rsync and then check hashes.

P.S. Welcome! :partying_face:

5 Likes

Hi and welcome to the forum @azxr , it really depends on your use case, for me I backup the majority of my files on my external HDD and a few various things on GitHub. But it really depend on what you use the system for, I mainly use my laptop as a “smart tv” so I don’t have much on the laptop except for programs I need to accomplish this

3 Likes

I run Timeshift before I do my updates. I know it isn’t fool proof, but I don’t really care all that much since all my important data is saved on an external HDD.

2 Likes

My data is backup on 3 different computers. So I guess it would be plan B, C and then some. :joy:

6 Likes

Thank you! :smiley: I’ll definitely check out rsync as I’ve heard it being mentioned quite often for data backup.

2 Likes