Yay has lost its format, too verbose

Hi, dear community, today I’ve updated the system and yay didn’t keep its format while downloading packages from AUR:

yay-no-format

By the way, everything was updated successfully, so I don’t think is a real bug, just something weird in the view.

2022-04-05_16-13
looking normal here i would bet you resized the terminal while the process?

And a BUG report only providing a screenshot and only a very little info is not a useful report.
A real report would give some system info and info about what terminal running p.e.

yay itself was updated 2022-03-06 17:12 (UTC) last time a month ago also…

5 Likes

Have you recently changed this Terminal (Konsole?) font to a non Mono one? It looks like it.
Confirm the font is set to a Monospace font.

Sorry for the lack of information, I’m still a noob and I didn’t do my job by not reading rules before posting here.

• inxi log
  • Terminal: gnome-terminal, the one that comes with Cinnamon Desktop, current version 3.42.2
  • I’ve configured terminal to show 110 columns / 28 lines and didn’t resize the window
  • yay --version: yay v11.1.2 - libalpm v13.0.1

Should I add more information?

Thanks for your time and, again, I’m sorry for the first posting with just a screenshot.

When I’ve installed EndeavourOS (Cinnamon Desktop) I’ve just configured colors, 110 columns / 28 lines and didn’t touch anything else, never marked the “custom font” checkbox and it shows “monospace 12” as the current font.

1 Like

looks like yay writes new lines instead of updating the same while in progress. But I have no solution for this. Is there a package needed to provide inline updates? ncurses or sth. like this. May be it got lost when removing another package…

1 Like

not that you think I am unfriendly … sounded only a bit like that maybe … its fine me and others will remind you on providing better info if needed…and next time you will know better … that’s how you get knowledge :wink:

2 Likes