Wifi adapter RTL8821CE and black screen after reboot

Hi …

I have a HP 255G7 with the WLAN module: RTL8821CE.

The following problem occurs. I am installing the rtl8821ce-dkms package together with the headers for Kernel 5.8.

sudo pacman -S linux58-headers
yay -S rtl8821ce-dkms

This goes so far without any problems …

But after a restart my screen remains black. The system won’t start anymore, no matter how often I try.

I am new to the Linux world and have no idea what I can do.

I have already reinstalled EndeavourOS twice (UEFI and MBR) and am now looking for help …

Thanks a lot

@Gr1mwalk3r
Try the rtl8821ce-dkms-git version

Nothing has changed. I can still access the tty and log in. The journalctl says something about:

lightdm.service: Failed with result and failed to start Light Display Manager.

I still don’t understand why the “Light Display Manager” doesn’t work after installing the rtl8821ce-dkms-git package

Edit: with the rtl8821ce-dkms i could not reach the tty after reboot. a small progress with the *dkms-git package

systemctl status --failed

Edit: Boot up and go into tty with ctrl f2

Should be: Boot up and go into tty with Ctrl Alt F2

systemctl --failed

lightdm.service loaded failed failed
systemd-backlight@backlight:acpi_video0.service loaded failed failed
systemd-backlight@backlight:amdgpu_b10.service loaded failed failed

@Pudge
Could you assist here to enable and start the two failed services. I’m at work right now and on mobile phone which is not handy.

Thanks.

@Gr1mwalk3r
You can try to enable and start lightdm.

systemctl enable lightdm.service

systemctl start lightdm

Edit: See if this works and then we can deal with the backlighting.

It worked!! After a restart the same problem.

Wlan also works with the *dkms-gti version

1 Like

So all is well and your problem solved?

Pudge

It would be nice if this happens automatically after the reboot. lightdm.service failed after each restartI … still have to enter the two commands …