Why window managers are rarely used for gaming

Hello again my friends I’m have a question about using window managers to play games without using any desktop environments and with the most up to date kernel i just want to try gaming on them and testing how to feel the maximum performance in endeavour os

Not sure if your question is the title itself or not. But I use i3wm to play games just fine.

I installed Qtile recently and tried to game but noticed there were some rendering issues. But I’m new to Qtile, so I’m not sure if that was a user issue or WM issue.

1 Like

People usually want a “normal” desktop experience or don’t know about window managers. That’s probably why it’s usually not suggested for gaming.

Overall you won’t get any significant speed gains.

1 Like

Different target groups. Most of the gamers just wan’t simple desktop environment and there is nothing wrong with that.

1 Like

Forgot the speed part of your post. Like @I0F said, I actually haven’t gotten a performance improvement per se, having used Cinnamon sometimes to game, and KDE in the past.

The only thing I can think of is where occasionally while using Cinnamon, the DE itself would crash after hours of gaming, and the game would start stuttering. But that is very likely just my computer being overworked.

i3wm hasn’t crashed, but the game still eventually starts stuttering. The game in question is “Days Gone” by the way - a AAA game - so it is to be expected.

1 Like

Will that’s the reason i im testing them for my gaming test and i only tried sway and i3

You can test away, but the only way you should see an improvement (other than upgrading your hardware) is if the WM is written in plain text, markdown, or maybe HTML, or Rust?. Not actually sure about this, but it should be correct? :person_shrugging:

Maybe try Spectrwm or LeftWM. Probably as lightweight as it gets.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Comparison_of_tiling_window_managers#Comparison_table