Which is better? VirtualBox with KVM or Virt-Manager with KVM/QEMU

I’ve been using VirtualBox as my hypervisor for a very long time. I’ve been seeing a lot of people using Virt-Manager and KVM. I mainly use the hypervisor to test out interesting distros or to test a version of eos or an edition of eos. I also use a VM to run my windows C# dev system and 2 other Linux machines (ArcoLinux and my eos AwesomeWM testbed).

Does Virt-Manager is better than VirtualBox? Is it worth switching to my VMs to Virt-Manager with KVM/QEMU or just keep using VirtualBox with KVM?

Hard to say really…In terms of ease of use and portability of images, i’d say i prefer VirtualBox, performance wise KVM/QEMU might be better, there’s only one way to know which one you’ll choose :upside_down_face:

Accept my sincere condolences. :cold_face:

1 Like

It’s due to my work. I’m an OCR Solution Developer and the main software we or the server part is created using C# so that’s why.

1 Like

In my experience KVM/QEMU is vastly faster in what graphics are concerned (including simple desktop usage).
Virtual Machine Manager offers a GUI for KVM/QEMU, not dissimilar from Virtualbox. Still there is a steep but short learning curve to KVM/QEMU.

If we are talking about performance, it isn’t even close. libvirt/qemu/kvm is much better.

IMO, virtualbox has fallen behind everything else and has taken a step back since version 6.

The only advantages virtualbox has in my experience are:

• Slightly better host/guest integration depending on which features you need
  • The ability to take snapshots of UEFI VMs(I can’t believe this support hasn’t been added to qemu yet)
  • Shorter learning curve