What makes Arch Linux different from all other distributions?

I’ve been using EOS for three years, and before that I was lucky enough to work with Antergos and Manjaro, but I used Debian-based distributions, openSUSE (Suse), Fedora (Red Hat), for much longer.
So what makes Arch different from all the other distributions out there? The completely different, not included in any other distribution, package management? Is it that all Linux operations are much simpler here? Etc. etc. Anyone who is interested in the topic, feel free to comment, especially those who, like me, have been using other distros for a long time and didn’t know the “Arch way” before.

There is no one thing that Arch does better than other distros that makes it different. It is the sum of all the things that make it unique.

• Rolling model with aggressively updated packages
  • Large software selection in the repos which becomes comprehensive when adding the AUR
  • Easy access to both free and non-free software
  • Simple package structure that makes packaging fast and easy
  • The documentation in the Arch wiki
  • The focus on letting you build your system your way
  • A fairly large group of contributors that isn’t mired in governance
  • Etc, etc, etc

There are actually other non Arch-based distros using pacman as well.

14 Likes
  • Internet bragging rights of “using Arch, btw” :rofl:
13 Likes

the one true reason to use Arch

4 Likes

I guess you mean deb-pacman for example.

To me, Arch Linux - once we get the hang of setting it up to our liking - is the fastest, most lean distro out there!
With leanness in mind, it is the best, especially for any user of older, legacy hardware!

1 Like

No, there are other distros that use actual pacman as their primary package manager. There are 2-3 of them. One of them off the top of my head is kaos.

So is it still trendy to use Arch, or is it becoming more cool these days?