What does this mean when I try to install Steam with the yay command?

Hi all friends.

I’m new to Linux and EOS, and there are some basic things I’m embarrassed to ask, sorry but:

I need to install Steam, Blender, Gimp and JDownloader 2. I execute in the terminal:

yay

(I update everything)

yay -S steam

But I get this message (sorry for my bad english):

[mylinux@mylinux ~]$ yay -S steam
Sync Explicit (1): steam-1.0.0.78-1
resolving dependencies...
:: There are 6 providers available for vulkan-driver:
:: Repository extra
   1) amdvlk  2) nvidia-utils  3) vulkan-intel  4) vulkan-radeon  5) vulkan-swrast  6) vulkan-virtio

Enter a number (default=1): 
:: There are 6 providers available for lib32-vulkan-driver:
:: Repository multilib
   1) lib32-amdvlk  2) lib32-nvidia-utils  3) lib32-vulkan-intel  4) lib32-vulkan-radeon
   5) lib32-vulkan-swrast  6) lib32-vulkan-virtio

Enter a number (default=1):

I press enter, but that message appears again.

I guess it forces me to type one of those 6 numbers and hit enter.

How do I know which of those 6 numbers I need to install in order to install Steam?

Thanks in advance.

Vulkan is the graphical api for GPU driver that lets you play games with decent performance, make sure to read requirements section to choose correct one for your GPU.

P.S. In case of AMD it’s best to use radv radeon ones.

1 Like

Thanks friend, I have a GTX 1050 ti, I’ll see your link.

Oh and to answer that - it doesn’t force choice:

1. It asked you about vulkan driver
  2. You pressed Enter (that means choose default option, which was 1, wrong for you :wink: )
  3. Then it asked about Vulkan driver for multilib lib32 it’s same driver for x32 architecture games, both should be installed on your system for successful gaming,

So basically for you GPU you need to go with proprietary Nvidia drivers for best performance:

nvidia-utils
lib32-nvidia-utils

When asked just type the number you want to choose and press enter.

1 Like

Thanks my friend!