What does it mean by "terminal-centric" distro?

Hi,

I’m relatively new to Linux, but I like using the terminal. I come from Linux Mint and Debian derivatives.

Now moving to Arch-based distros, I’m still kind of divided between Manjaro and EndeavourOS until I found that the latter is more “terminal-centric”.

So I’d like to know exactly, what do EndeavourOS devs mean by being a more “terminal-centric” distro?

Thanks!

Take a look at this post. It explains it pretty well.

10 Likes

The “terminal-centric” tagline was just a justification for not supporting a GUI package manager, for reasons explained in that post @dalto shared.

But EndeavourOS really is a great distro if you enjoy doing stuff in the terminal.

It’s not that you really have to use the terminal for everything – you can use the GUI for almost anything (even package management, regardless of it not being supported). But if you prefer the command line interface, you’re at home. :slight_smile:

Also, don’t complain about it, if you dislike using the terminal. The “terminal-centric” tagline is excellent for shutting up people who complain about it. :rofl:

11 Likes

“Terminal-centric” is what drew me to EndeavourOS. I do have pamac-aur installed, but only use as a lookup on the rare occasion I can’t find the exact spelling of a package in the pacman, yay or the AUR.

The terminal is set to stay on top and it’s giving me plenty of muscle memory, plus it’s faster. Also, as they say in what Dalto posted, Pamac, being a Manjaro package, is well documented to be unreliable. I found that to be the case during my short-lived dalliance with Manjaro.

6 Likes

:point_up_2:t2:

Pamac already makes a lot of problems under Manjaro …

1 Like

Right. A few days ago I read an article related to problems in Manjaro Linux here https://github.com/arindas/manjarno and here https://www.hadet.dev/Manjaro-Bad/