What are good GUI options for a newbie?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Endeavour OS, coming from Manjaro. I’ve read about why the distro does not have a default GUI for software center and I understand their decision pretty well.

Coming from Manjaro and being quite a casual Linux user and being a rookie with the terminal, GUI for software manager are quite important to me.

So, I’ve tried to read about what the community is using for this purpose and I’m conflicted on what to do. As I said, I’m used to pamac (thanks to Manjaro) but I’ve read that people don’t recommend it for this distro.

So I thought it could be better to ask nicely the community about what they think a casual user like me at the moment (many things I read were a year or more old so IDK how things evolved).

What GUI would work well to organize software (given that I’d use it when I’m confused with the terminal and usually to have a glimpse at what software I installed and might not want anymore [which happen frequently when you’re a newbie and are testing what works for you but have trouble remembering what you did installed exactly).

Thanks a lot !

If I have to be fully honest, I would encourage to take your time in exploring the ‘terminal centric’ experience. It’s far less scary than you actually think, and several times more powerful than you can imagine. I used Manjaro in work environment for several years, and am fully aware of flaws and perks: probably the weakest point is actually pamac, as it tends to desync so often from the keyrings/repositories that you end up messing packages in a unrecoverable way.

3 Likes

pacseek is the only thing other than a terminal I’d recommend.

Otherwise if you’re just searching for programs, I like the Arch and AUR web pages.

7 Likes

OK, I’m going to go out on a limb here. You could install pamac for searching the repo for the correct names of packages, but then try:

yay -S <package_name>

Yay is preinstalled.

Btw, welcome to the :enos: forum @Corbalte