Systemd-boot loader disappeared after bios update

Hello hope you are doing well.

I’m still new-ish to linux and I run a dual boot with windows and endeavouros. My endeavouros install was working great for the past 3 months. Today I updated the bios and it boots directly into windows without showing the boot menu. I made sure that secure boot is turned off again and fast boot is turned off. I opened the disk management tool in windows and I found that all of my linux partitions are present.

So how can I recover my bootloader? and tell me if I should post an output of a specific command that could help you. I’m using systemd boot not grub. Also please make the instructions noob friendly as I’m still learning how to deal with linux. Thanks!

I would try to reinstall systemd-boot loader. I don’t know why updating the bios should mess with your hard drive. The two area’s are unrelated. However I don’t know crap about Winblowz So no idea of how it loads anymore.

2 Likes

There has been a few reported cases recently when a BIOS update has wiped the boot entry for EnOS.

First of all, go into your BIOS settings and check if it is actually gone.

If it is still there, you could simply change the boot priority.

If it is gone, as mentioned above, you would need to reinstall your bootloader from your live usb using arch-chroot.

Depending on what filesystem, the instructions vary a little bit. You could boot up your live USB and provide the output of the following commands:

sudo parted -l

and

efibootmgr

Copy the terminal output, paste it into your reply, highlight it and press Ctrl-E to format for better readability.

For a similar case, see: EndeavourOS bootloader missing after BIOS update (dual boot)

2 Likes

The hard drive is not changed. Only the UEFI boot entries were reset to default, which includes only a default entry for WinOS.