Snapper post install

Hi, I’m new with Endeavours, I came from Manjaro Testing branch (their gurus don’t want use snapper, for my opinion) and with Arcolinux (they have snapper during install) but this is a confusing distro for me,

but I may say that I’m in love with this EOS.

After a fresh install of Endeavouros with gnome DE, I’ve installed snapper as follow (following a tutorial found here for a post install with gnome DE):

yay -S snapper-support btrfs-assistant

snapper-support will automatically install snapper, grub-btrfs, snap-pac from official Arch repos and configure Snapper for you, and the BTRFS Assistant is a GUI Tool made by r/GarudaLinux team by which you can easily manage and restore your Snapshots and BTRFS Subvolumes. grub-btrfs will enable accessing Snapshots from GRUB Menu.

I’ve NOT made any changes to volume that are automatically created by Endeavour with a BTRFS file system during the installation.

I would like to know if this procedure is correct or if I must change something else, I’ve made a couple of test all has worked good

Thank again and I apologize since now for this request but I’ve not found nothing on the web that may convince me that I’m in a correct way with snapper

Rob

There are older threads will discuss snapper-support. Maybe they are helpful

You can also search for snapper-support using the forum search bar.

There is no absolute answer to that. It depends what the goal you want to achieve is.

There is also a procedure on the EOS wiki for using TImeshift, which accomplishes a similar task to snapper.

https://discovery.endeavouros.com/encrypted-installation/btrfs-with-timeshift-snapshots-on-the-grub-menu/2022/02/

1 Like

Well, I’ve made a final test, updated system with 86 new packager
then restored previous snap (before update) and I’ve found the a previous system again with 86 package to update and all works good.

In btrfs assistant I’ve found only a new volume: _backup_20228019
Schermata del 2022-09-08 20-09-30