Slow browser

Slow web, can’t play youtube videos or browse the web using Firefox or Chromium also tried Brave,
appears to be lagging, skipping, and stopping
Dual boot Windows 11 side works great with no problems on the web.

download speed from speedtest.net showed:
Ping 22
speed download 450Mbps

Running AMD Ryzen 5 2600 6 core 12 threads
16 Meg Ram
B450 gaming plus motherboard
Nvidia Geforce 1070 FTW
Samsung SSD 860

HTOP shows the CPU running about 2%, Memory at 1.2gb out of 16gb
I’m a newbie at the command line so if you can help please be specific.

Do you have the nvidia drivers installed?

Could you post inxi -Ga

1 Like

Hi ricklinux, I hope this helps

Graphics: Device-1: NVIDIA GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] vendor: eVga.com. driver: nvidia v: 465.31
alternate: nouveau,nvidia_drm bus-ID: 1c:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1b81 class-ID: 0300
Display: x11 server: X.org 1.20.12 driver: loaded: nvidia
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa alternate: nouveau,nv
resolution: <missing: xdpyinfo>
Message: Unable to show advanced data. Required tool glxinfo missing.

Also I should add that I don’t seem to have a problem doing anything local like playing a movie on my local network or opening photos

1 Like

Hello @James
Are you able to do me one more favor? I need you to install the following and then run the command again and post it to see if it’s rendering properly using nvidia driver.

yay -S mesa-demos
yay -S xorg-xdpyinfo
yay -S dmidecode

Graphics: Device-1: NVIDIA GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] vendor: eVga.com. driver: nvidia v: 465.31
alternate: nouveau,nvidia_drm bus-ID: 1c:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:1b81 class-ID: 0300
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.12 driver: loaded: nvidia
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa alternate: nouveau,nv display-ID: :0.0 screens: 1
Screen-1: 0 s-res: 3840x2520 s-dpi: 96 s-size: 1016x667mm (40.0x26.3")
s-diag: 1215mm (47.8")
Monitor-1: DP-0 res: 3440x1440 dpi: 107 size: 819x346mm (32.2x13.6")
diag: 889mm (35")