Should I use a LTS kernel? If so, how to change it?

Hi, I have a question.

I have recently watched a video about how to make Arch more stable by Chris Titus Tech, and he suggested to use a LTS kernel for stability.

Do you think I should switch to a LTS kernel then? My current kernel is 5.9.1-arch1-1.

If you think I should switch, how can I do it on EndeavourOS? I’m still kinda new to Arch based distros…

Thanks!

1 Like

I always recommend running an LTS kernel unless you have a reason not to. The main reasons not to would be:

• You just like having and testing the absolute latest stuff
  • You have very new hardware which requires a more recent kernel
  • There is some new feature introduced that is must have for you

To install the LTS kernel you can use:

sudo pacman -S linux-lts linux-lts-headers

Mainline non-LTS kernels can sometimes introduce issues early in their lifecycle. They are typically fixed in later point releases. But they are very shortlived so about the time they get fully stable they are EOL. :wink:

16 Likes

Also that, in case you have Nvidia GPU:

So if you do - for now LTS is a good idea anyway :upside_down_face:

1 Like

Ok, thank you! @dalto

By having and testing the absolute latest stuff, do you mean I will stop getting the latest updates on software I have already installed?

No, your software will get updated as normal.

It means you won’t benefit(or suffer) from new features introduced in the kernel itself. This is a non-issue for most people.

2 Likes

Also that, in case you have Nvidia GPU

Yes, my laptop has Nvidia GPU but also Intel integrated graphics. I haven’t experienced any kind of incompatibility at this moment, but good to know!

No, your software will get updated as normal.

Ok, then I’m installing it. Thanks! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Sorry, I need help with something else :sweat_smile:

I have just installed it, but now I need to know how to change it as Chris only explains how to hold a kernel version.