RHEL(and the others) alternatives

I’m a sysadmin in Romania, we are using centos 7 for our servers, I have just started to rewrite our stuff for rocky 9 recently… After the recent news, I’m uncertain about the future prospects of RHEL-based distros. There’s no way that our clients will pay for a rhel license, those prices are not made for this market.

So I think we will have to use a different distro for our software. Right now there are 3 candidates: OpenSUSE, Debian, maybe Ubuntu.

I have only experience with Ubuntu, but I don’t like it at all. Snaps are weird, the update system is weird too, I don’t feel like it’s a predictable and reliable distro.

Any suggestions, experiences with other distros as servers?

4 Likes

The most logical choice here would be to go with a community distribution which is also mainstream for a lot of software support, which would then rule out Ubuntu and OpenSuse because they are basically owned by a company, so Debian!

2 Likes

Maybe Oracle Linux isn’t affected?

I don’t know what your business model is, but unless you gain additional revenue by upgrading servers, I would choose Ubuntu. While I don’t like it either, the LTS releases have very long commercially supported life-cycles.

For supporting customer servers, OpenSuse’s Leap support windows are too unclear to me. Support for Debian releases by the Debian team is only for 3 years although there is a volunteer LTS team that tries to make them viable for “at least” 5 years.

I also don’t know the current fate of Oracle Linux. It may be another option if it continues. I am always hesitant to use it though because it isn’t clear to me how committed Oracle is to continuing it.

4 Likes

we are basically in the same situation. Our best candidate is Debian.
They have a very strong Open source commitment, they even have some contracts in place forcing themselves to fully stay open and to not let any company get the slightest say over them.