Rack servers recommendation

I have no experience with servers. The server network I want to setup is going to have a server that will be used for VPN access, a server for number crunching and data mining and processing map data, a storage server for storing data if the project ever goes full scale. I am okay with SSDs if any that are included in the server as long as they are removable.

Edit: A cheap server for VPN as it will be used for connecting people associated with the project to the server network as of now.

go for Arm :mechanical_arm:

Are they expensive? As in expensive with respect to INR.

I have zero experience, but maybe @jonathon or @Root can help with that :upside_down_face:

As you talk about datamining and processing map data … ARM servers have are really good on this.
more scores a lot more cores…

But i mean depending an skills and biudged… you can build yourself too:

Professional grade ARM servers are not cheap for sure… but energy efficiency counts in that matter too

1 Like

When I was building out my home lab I was looking at old dell power edge and HP proliant. You can get some insane value in used hardware as most businesses have long since made back their investment on outgoing hardware and sell it for pennies.

I generally look to old Dell/HP server and Workstation hardware. In example iuse to host Minecraft and some other game servers on an old HP Z400 and with about 6 VMs for different servers it hardly broke a sweat. ATM I don’t have a lab after getting rid of a lot before I moved cross country (didn’t want to haul it all) but I wouldn’t hesitate to do it again.

I would argue against this

The power savings for arm is a bit exaggerated in some cases. If your workload is good for arm and you’re doing very large scale deployments where the difference of 250w vs 280w (ampere max vs epyc 7773X) matters to some degree then maybe.