Pacman and mirrors

So I am chunking this in newbie since I am new to Endeavor…and before starting I will say I have searched here for an answer…that I may be too stupid to recognize a solution is a distinct possibility…
I live in Ecuador in the northern highlands. Fiber to the house(small snicker) . Supposedly 10 MB up/down(choking sound)… now…I wont go into speed issues during peak times, wont go into lost packets, bufferbloat and latency only to say well it can be pretty bad. (looks for cup and string). Doing traceroutes many times find part of the problem here locally and part of the problem is where Ecuador sort of drools data into a wider web…so fine.
With Manjo I used to as a matter of course do something like pacman-mirrors --api --fasttrack 10 and occasionally get more creative with it to look for mirrors by country. Now I dont know how many mirrors we have here… but for me fasttrack was/is a valuable tool. I even attempted to try to find and install it with pacman here but no sugar(heyy its all good) so…is there a way to look for the faster(est) mirrors from pacman??? Otherwise it means traceroute or ping which is a lotta keystrokes…or can one install pacman-mirrors…or is there a command here to find the faster mirror…
Suggestions please AND
Happy New Year…

2 Likes

You should open the welcome app that came with your installation. It has an update mirrors option there. That will probably be your easiest option for you.

Screenshot_20201227_183548

6 Likes

If you installed EndeavourOS, the welcome screen should have been included.
Welcome

The “Update Mirrors” will do what you want.
If the Welcome screen doesn’t appear at log-in, then in a terminal window type
$ eos-welcome --enable

This function on the welcome screen uses reflector and reflector-simple. These can also be run at the command line.

Edit: darn you @fbodymechanic, you beat me!

Pudge

6 Likes

fbodymechanic !
Thanks for this. Ready for 2021??