NOOB to EndeavorOS - KDE Plasma Questions

Greetings:

I am completely new to EndeavorOS (Arch) and KDE Plasma. I am currently trying to run a couple of items with no luck and could really use some major Help.

I am trying to control my keyboard and mouse RGB with OpenRGB and view my temperatures for CPU, etc with no luck using the Temperature Monitor Widget, both seem broken on my system. Having used Linux for several years (just not Arch or any derivative thereof) I am still new to this distro.

Some notes:
Installed both from GIT using YAY
Both Built without errors

Not sure if I am missing something, so help (even hand holding) is very appreciated.

Thanks,
Michael

1 Like

welcome at the purple side of linux :enos:

https://discovery.endeavouros.com/forum-log-tool-options/how-to-include-systemlogs-in-your-post/2021/03/

And give some more info on the packages you try to use for this.

2 Likes

Welcome! :slight_smile:

It’s best to avoid -git as they’re not particularly stable, use openrgb or openrgb-bin (if you really trust the packager and able to check PKGBUILD, since it’s pre-compiled) :upside_down_face:

And since you’re new to Arch, read this it will help

SAFETY

• Always prefer Free & Open-source (FOSS) software instead of proprietary.

• Limit the amount of unofficial packages used to simplify maintenance.
    Make periodic checks on which are in actual use, and remove or replace with their official counterparts.

• Use precaution when using packages from the AUR or an unofficial user repository.
    Most are supplied by regular users and thus may not have the same standards as those in the official repositories, therefore must be checked by you.

STABILITY

To improve stability and simplify maintenance:

• Avoid cutting edge software and install only mature and proven software.