Network Controller Issue

Hi,
I have an hp620 with ralink rt3090bc4.
Following the arch linux guide to setup network I runned the lspci and lspci -k commands and both showed Ethernet Controller but not Network Controller, so I runned rfkill list and it only showed bluetooth; thinking it was a driver problem I went under module-load.b created the file program.conf and added rt2800pci(a driver compatible with rt3090), then I restarted the pc.
Runned lsmod and now I could see rt2800pci(before it was not present) but the outcome of the above commands didn’t change.
I am new to linux, I’b be glad if any of you could help, thanks.
Edit: Forgot to mention that iw dev returned nothing and ip link returned the loopback(lo) and ens5 which to my understanding should be Ethernet

I think you mean it shows the Ethernet controller but not WiFi.

Are you able to run

inxi -Na

Yeah essentially, I need wifi.

The command returned

Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL810xE PCI Express Fast Ethernet
    vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: r8169 v: kernel pcie: gen: 1
    speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: 2000 bus-ID: 84:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8136
    class-ID: 0200

So it’s not even showing the WiFi after you created the program.conf

Exactly

I would remove that file and try something different. That chip is very problematic. Most ralink are.

Ok thanks, what should I try?

Give me a minute.

Try the following

sudo modprobe -r rt2800pci
sudo modprobe rt2800pci

I just removed the file should I restart the pc before trying this commands?

Sure why not it won’t hurt.

1 Like

I also wanted to ask for you to make sure the WiFi is actually turned on? I don’t know what F keys it is but you should double check that.

Edit: Until we get it to recognize and list the hardware it’s not going to work.

You mean the physical key?

Yes… the key that turns WiFi on and off.