Nemo on Gnome 42?

So far I am satisfied with Gnome 42, and I would like to keep it close to stock Gnome. Unfortunately Gnome has a terrible Nautilus file manager replacement they call Gnome Files.

I have always liked Nemo, but before installing it, I wonder who has tried it with Gnome 42? What do you think of it and which repository did you use?

Have a link?

Do that :hugs:

1 Like

https://archlinux.org/packages/?name=nemo

Try installing nemo with pacman.

It includes the Cinnamon Desktop as a dependency. I believe that is pretty much the entire Cinnamon Desktop. So it comes with a price

BTW tell pacman not to install nemo after you see the extra baggage.

Pudge

5 Likes

I can probably afford that…

Thanks for your advice Pudge.

2 Likes

I’ve been using nemo in Gnome for 6 months now. I prefer a couple of its features. I might have missed that cinnamon-desktop bit… but I don’t know how it materializes. Cinnamon is not a DE option for me to login in the login manager.

1 Like

pcmanfm no bad…

6 Likes

gnome-desktop is not GNOME.

cinnamon-desktop is not Cinnamon.

These are library packages used by those DEs, not the full DEs: “Library with common API for various modules”.

7 Likes

Gnome 42?

I like the dual pane F3, and that it saves your folder view.

This is, if not the first thing, among the first things I do while setting up GNOME.
Among other things, I like that Nemo gives me the option to “Open as Root” under the right click out-of-the-box for those time I am too lazy for sudoing something in the terminal.

pacman -Qi nemo

Name            : nemo
Version         : 5.2.4-1
Description     : Cinnamon file manager (Nautilus fork)
Architecture    : x86_64
URL             : https://github.com/linuxmint/nemo
Licenses        : GPL
Groups          : None
Provides        : None
Depends On      : cinnamon-desktop  dconf  gvfs  exempi  libexif  libnotify  libxml2  python  xapp
Optional Deps   : cinnamon-translations: i18n