Making sense of how to install package on Arch/EOS

Greetings to all,
Brand new to Linux and EOS.Just did a fresh install of Gnome. I am new to Linux so can’t compare to other distros but its extremely fast, lean and mean (compared to win) :slight_smile: Thank you for all your efforts…
I have a question regarding a specific package that is required for my rig. Its a tuxedo that I got for very cheap. Before installing I saw the package existed on Arch (AUR) but after install of EOS, I was trying to figure out how to install the package but its simplyway too hard to understand. I was wondering if anyone could dummy the process for me ?
Package name is “tuxedo-cc-wmi”. I found it here “https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/tuxedo-cc-wmi/”.

All the best

1 Like

Open up a terminal and type:

yay -S tuxedo-cc-wmi
4 Likes

Welcome aboard! :smile:

The official (and most reliable) package manager is pacman (a terminal program, no GUI). It manages only the official packages, not AUR packages.

Then we have yay which is quite similar to pacman from the user’s point of view. Yay can handle AUR packages, too.

Some links:

4 Likes

Thank you guys very much for replying. Its now installed.
I thought this would the full app but I guess its just the driver for the fan and heat. Kind of a profile to avoid the fan ramping all the time. This tuxedo I got me on the cheap is plagued by this fan contently ramping up as soon as you push the rig a little bit. What a pain…

1 Like

There appears to be a second app " tuxedo-control-center" that references the application in your first post. I can be installed by:

yay -S tuxedo-control-center

That may give you the full app you’re looking for.

Thank you for your help @nohbody. Just installed the app…

Welcome to the community :beers:

Welcome! I just checked tuxedos yesterday, some of them look quite sleek, 14’ with up to 24h battery life. Wondering which one you got?

They also mention an app to control fan…