Lower FPS in certain games on Linux vs. Windows

Hello,

I’m relatively new to EndeavourOS and I really like it. However, when I was recently reinstalling Windows to use Adobe, I also decided to test a few games to compare them. I unfortunately noticed that in some games, such as Quake Champions, I get 60-100fps more on Windows than on Linux. I don’t know why there is such a difference in performance between the two OSs when there shouldn’t be. I also thought I’d mention I’m using GNOME.

I also know that it’s not my thermals because they’re all good so I’m guessing it’s a driver issue or something I’ve done.

I’m not sure if this is the case for any other games that I have as I haven’t tested them yet.

My system specs:
Ryzen 5 3600
Noctual Air Cooler
16gb DDR4-3600 RAM
250GB Samsung SSD (Where Windows is installed)
1TB NVME (Where EndeavourOS is installed)
MSI GTX 1070

Any help is greatly appreciated!

• Thanks

I think this is a comprehensive wiki you may want to have a look at and prepared by @keybreak. I only recently started gaming on Linux but there are a couple of gamers in the forum.

Edit: also welcome to the forum :grin: you get the fastest help if you can properly give infos on your system. Here is a starter. Would be good to see which driver was installed.

https://discovery.endeavouros.com/forum-log-tool-options/how-to-include-systemlogs-in-your-post/2021/03/

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply!

I had a look at the wiki post, and I’ve reinstalled the DXVK stuff.

Here’s the system logs you said would help diagnose the issue.

https://clbin.com/zMDcG

https://clbin.com/t11ge

• Thanks
1 Like

I have found, in my limited cross-platform gaming experience, that the games I’ve played that have native builds in Windows and Linux - Baldur’s Gate I/II EE, Icewind Dale EE, Lux Delux, to name a few - run better on Linux. This was also true with Worms Armageddon (Windows only).