KDE or XFCE for me?

So I currently use xfce.
My (low-end)pc has a 4GB of ram and a AMD A6 processor.
Recently i saw that KDE is now lighter than xfce.
So my mind is forcing me to install KDE plasma.
but there are some problems for me.
I mostly use gtk applications. Before in another os i installed plasma but,gtk apps had their native adwaita theme and i tried to fix that but it failed.
And is it safe to install KDE alongside to xfce?
And is KDE actually LIGHTWEIGHT?
And the gtk theming?
thanks in advance

KDE has come a long way and is pretty much on par with XFCE. It is lighter than what it used to be and it’s very polished. You can install KDE alongside XFCE but recommend using another user for your KDE.

I’m not a KDE expert I use XFCE exclusively (it just works for me) but if I’d pick another DE it would be KDE.

4 Likes

Create two users. Install both KDE and XFCE. Boot into KDE from one and try XFCE on the other. Disable file indexing when on KDE. Then decide yourself. With two users, you will have a fresh configuration and the DEs won’t conflict.

1 Like

From personal experience, I still find KDE slow to start on hard disks; takes ages to start on my old PC with similar specs as yours. Xfce has worked well and good.

That being said, I also know people who use KDE as their daily drives on systems even lower spec than mine. So you probably want to try out both and see which one actually suits you.

Edit: My personal observations have been on installations on HDD. On SSD, I never found KDE to be sluggish.

Also, I did disable baloo and other stuff that could be causing slowdown.

Edit 2 : I remember being told on a different thread that my bad experience is an exception. So you really want to try out Xfce and KDE on your actual system and check.

2 Likes

Not in my case.

3 GB RAM in my case.

deweshk@HomeDesktop:~
➤ systemd-analyze 
Startup finished in 3.208s (kernel) + 3.194s (userspace) = 6.403s 
graphical.target reached after 3.185s in userspace