Installing endeavour

Hello, I am totally new to linux and wish to install endeavour, currently running windows 10 on disk “C” which is having issues and will totaly fail in near future. I want to install Endeavour on disk “D”
, smaller but in good shape. I dont care about the info on disk D, so I can totaly overwrite it.
I was told windows is placing a heavy burden on this system, so Im looking to linux as an option.

Hardware information:
intel core2 duo E8400
dual channel 4 gb ram
ECS G31T-M7 motherboard
1024 mb ati radeon hd 5450 graphics card
74 GB drive “D”
298 WD drive “C”

Here`s the deal:
I cant understand how to validate the iso image I downloaded, need step by step, please help.

It’s all explained on the download page.

https://endeavouros.com/latest-release/

That is quite an old computer you have. I do have one of mine with a similar specification. I would recommend installing endeavour with the xfce desktop, not the kde or gnome variants. They may not perform as well with that computer and that amount of RAM.

3 Likes

Thank you, I will take a look at that desktop, I really havent decided on which one to install.

xfce is quite basic though. Kde is more Windows like I suppose. Gnome is very different. As you also have a graphics card then kde may also run ok. Personally I would upgrade to 8GB of RAM first. Either way you can always look at the different desktop environments online before doing an install. A bit of research is always good before jumping in! :wink:

Gnome and KDE are using around the same amount of RAM as Xfce nowadays, afaik. No need to make RAM a deciding factor anymore.

2 Likes

Thanks but I probably visited that page about a dozen times, it shows you “what to do” but I need help on “HOW to do it” .
Could you please help me with that?