I would like to learn more about programming, and would appreciate some input on where to start

This is perhaps an odd request, and I am sure there are a ton of resources available out there but I’d appreciate some input from the wonderful people here, who no doubt have years of experience in the field. I’m a teacher at the moment, but I would like to - if possible - learn more about programming and eventually transition to a career in a relevant field.

I have some experience with various languages. When I was young I took some courses in HTML, CSS, PHP and MySQL. I do not remember a lot of it, but I’m sure it would come back to me. As a result of a few hobbies I also have some experience using LUA and YAML. I am far from an expert in these, but the point I’m making is that I’m not entirely new to the field either.

As I mentioned earlier I would like to learn more, and eventually transition into a career in the field, but I’m not quite sure what I would like to work with or where to start. I’m hoping some of you could offer some valuable input. Where would you start? What would you learn/skip if you could repeat your career path?

Little side note: I’m aware this is difficult to answer without knowing what I would like to work with. I’m quite flexible, and think it would come down to where the jobs are, but in an ideal world I would love to work with something involving Linux and/or open source software. Alternatively, I’m quite keen on anything involving IT security, but from what I understand that’s quite a difficult field (and I’m not that big on math to be honest).

Thanks in advance.

I would learn Python. It is used in a wide variety of industries and it is easy to learn.

Unless you are developing or implementing encryption you shouldn’t need a lot of math in the security field.