How would I manually install Endeavour with BTRFS with partitions

I believe Endeavour has the option to automatically install with btrfs while selecting clean installation,
however I would like to do it through the manual partitioning method, with subvolumes for /root, /home, /sys, etc.

I’m not a newbie, but I’m not that advanced as well (I know how partitions, and mounting work), and I’ve been using ext4 so far.
I want to switch so I can enable snapshots, because my system often breaks because of updates.

I’m not familiar with btrfs, so please do tell me exactly what subvolumes and everything to create, as well as how to go about it.

Thanks in advance,
Gaurav

If you use manual partitioning and create a btrfs mounted at /, it will automatically create all the recommended subvolumes for you in that partition.

Specifically, it will create subvolumes for:

• /
  • /home
  • /var/log
  • /var/cache

If you want to customize those, you can edit /etc/calamares/modules/mount.conf but be sure you know what you are doing. The defaults are a pretty reasonable starting place.

For example, you mention subvolumes for /root and /sys but before doing that make sure you have a good reason for doing so and understand the implications. You almost definitely don’t want a subvolume at /sys

To add to wwhat @dalto is saying, I also don’t recommend a seperate partition for the /root directory either. Root is kind of your last resort login and having it’s home directory on a seperate volume means if you loose that volume the root login probably won’t work right. It was meant to be part of the root “/” volume so that it would always work unless you actually lost the root volume itself.

Filling it up shouldn’t be a concern since you’re really not supposed to log in as root and use the root login minimally.

This is how I accomplish that:

1. Make sure default subvolumes like @, @home are not used
  2. Install distro as normal, do not format BTRFS partition
  3. Boot Live media