How to check the ISO with SHA512 and GnuPG?

Hello everybody, I’m completely new to Arch and decided to go with EndeavourOS as it provides a graphical installation process and has an awesome community. I have downloaded the ISO and wanted to verify it, but I’ve no idea how to do so… Can anyone please explain it to me step by step on how to do so? Thank in advance and wishing you all a blessed New Year!

Welcome avc,

Are you currently running Windows, Mac, or Linux right now? Each one has a different way to check the SHA512

Download the ISO and the appropriate files. Instructions are here:

https://endeavouros.com/latest-release/

Edit: If you don’t understand the wiki just ask.

3 Likes

Sorry for not clarifying about my system, currently I’m using Windows 10, but first I’m going to install in VMware…

And can you please tell if VirtualBox or VMware is better for running EndeavourOS? (I’m currently emphasising on performance, checking how fast it’ll run in a VM, so that I can get a brief idea on how it will run on my main system)

Anything in a VM is not going to give you as good a performance as if you ran something natively. Running EndeavourOS in a VM is great for testing purposes, but it’s not ideal if you’re trying to get a proper feel for how fast or speedy a distro is. Think of using a VM is like running a V8 engine, but with only 4 cylinders firing. It’ll run of course, but it’s not going to give you the full power and potential you’re looking for to truly determine performance. For that, a bare metal install is always the approach to go.

As for installing from Windows, I haven’t used Windows in like a decade, so I may not be the best resource for answering your question on that. Ubuntu is another popular distro that has many questions already answered in their various support channels. There is this link that may be more helpful to you than I could be, so consider checking this out: