Helping out with EOS

Hey there,

I’m a developer with a bit of spare time and was thinking of helping out if the team needs a hand? Wasn’t sure exactly where to reach out but figured this might be a good place to start :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Here’s our software development taking place:

Could you tell us something about your developer background, and what kind of things would you be interested in helping with?

Professionally, I mostly work in back-end code (Java, PHP, Python, PL/SQL et cetera) but I’ve got front end experience with React most recently. In terms of what I’d like to help out with, I haven’t got anything specific in mind but I was thinking that the installer and post install experience are maybe obvious candidates as starting points? From what I read it seems like that’s something you guys are thinking of expanding on so I’d be happy to give it a shot.

OK. Then I guess our other devs could have their say on what help they’d need. Currently they are quite busy, but hopefully they can allocate some time to give more answers.

And thanks for the offer! :+1: :smile:

1 Like
  • Installer is not developed by us, we use calamares, only configured and expanded to work for EndeavourOS.
  • post install experience ? we have welcome app and minimal system-configuration systemd services / grub theme lightdm theme / wallpapers

I noticed the theming wasn’t applied to the app. XFCE appears to use Arc on the live ISO, but the Calamares installer hasn’t been configured to suit the theme style judging by the grey background of the installer and the buttons used hence the suggestion.

I can’t seem to find the post now, but I recall reading somewhere you were looking to expand some application (I’m guessing it’s the eos-welcome app? I could’ve misread). In any case they’re suggestions, if there’s something you want help with specifically and I feel I’ve got the skills to help, I will. Otherwise, if you feel you’re on top of things; that’s fine too.