Guide to Live Streaming on Linux

Introduction

I’ve been using Linux for the past 5 years as a daily driver and also streaming on Twitch. The process being different from Windows, I decided to write a little guide for it. I have not tried streaming on YouTube, Facebook or any other service, but I assume this guide will also be useful.

Streaming Software

On Windows you would either use StreamLabs OBS(SLOBS) or OBS Studio. On Linux, only OBS Studio is available as SLOBS is a proprietary software and for windows 10. The package is in the repos and called obs-studio. OBS Studio does not have all the built in tools SLOBS has for creating alerts, testing them, the bot, etc. You will have to use those from their website in the same fashion you would using OBS Studio on Windows. Essentially you create the alerts, jar, etc just as you would on the app and then copy the URL address and paste it in the CLR browser/web browser. Here is the twist, there is no web browser in OBS Studio on Linux. Thankfully there are user created browsers in the AUR. I personally use obs-linuxbrowser-bin(used to be called linuxbrowser), there is also a standard version and a git version. There are no other steps required after installing it you will be able to paste the StreamLabs link in the web browser source as you would on Windows. OBS on Linux also has no game capture, just use window capture to capture your game. Desktop capture seems to make proton games laggy, I would suggest to avoid it.

The dashboard/alert software by StreamLabs (not SLOBS, the old TwitchAlerts) also does not support Linux. I suggest simply opening a tab in your browser on your dashboard.

Streaming Hardware