Guidance Requested: GUI Reboot vs. Command Line Reboot

I’m wondering whether rebooting from the command line carries any inherent risk in comparison to rebooting from the GUI (I’m using KDE Plasma, but I think this question is DE agnostic).

It is so much easier to update my system from CLI and then issue the ‘reboot’ command, than to futz around with extra steps to run from the GUI. But, I wonder whether the GUI command is safer in the way of closing files/ applications or something similar, versus what the reboot command does.

I hope this makes sense. It is a total newbie question, but in searching, I don’t see a definitive answer as to the relative safety between the methods.

I’ll look forward to any thoughts / other considerations …

Cheers,

Barry

Hi there,

I am by no means an expert, but I would say there is no difference, I always reboot from cli, install / remove, update, etc. from cli.

If anything, I would bet the cli is way safer than any GUI.

Laters.

1 Like

Used both ways many times–no difference that I can see.

1 Like

There shouldn’t be any difference. In either case, they should be invoking systemd to shutdown/reboot the system.

I use the command line method 99% of the time.

3 Likes

I read that
systemctl reboot
systemctl poweroff
is the preferred way in the CLI. However, about 50% of the time I forget the systemctl part and haven’t had any problems.

Pudge

Thanks, everyone. I appreciate the feedback, confirmation, and shared experiences.

That is because of the package systemd-sysvcompat. It’s job is to take the old commands like reboot and and make them work. I think if you look you will see that the /usr/bin/reboot is actually linked to systemctl.

3 Likes

While @dalto is 99% of the time correct (a percentage much higher than mine, btw), I have to disagree here: there definitely is a difference between clicking on the button “Restart” in KDE Plasma and running the command reboot.