Getting the itch to install Gnome again

…Any known issues with Gnome on Arch i need to be aware of? I ran it for a month on Fedora when 40 was released without problems.

1 Like

Well, it’s not KDE Plasma… That’s a pretty big issue to me :rofl:

10 Likes

have Gnome on x86 on same install over 1 year and no problems . that all i can say :blush: :vulcan_salute:

EDit… no say same for ARM :pensive:

4 Likes

I do have several EOS installations with Gnome here in my family. Most of the time everything runs fine. The only problem we get from time to time but not for every user is a crash of the extensions at login. After reactivating them it all works fine again. I have not found a reason or extension why it happens.

2 Likes

The only major issue is twice a year things break.

It’s a lot of fun though.

1 Like

I’d rather do Cinnamon any day! :innocent:

3 Likes

I’ve been rolling with Gnome on my main desktop for 2 1/2 years or so and haven’t had any issues besides the periodic breakage of extensions and a fumbled upgrade of Pipewire. That one was on me, though.

1 Like

Extensions is what puts me off. Vanilla Gnome does not seem to be enough for many people so there are all these extra “bits” to add functionality. Some work and are stable and others are…well. The whole setup reminds me of adding PPA’s to Mint or Ubuntu. It’s not how I like things. There are other desktops that are better but that’s just my opinion. I know the AUR is “adding things” but I prefer that to Gnome extensions or PPA type stuff.

1 Like

As much as I hate extensions - I do understand why they do it. I just like making my computer for me, instead of bending my workflow to fit their environment.

It’s a solidly good experience though.

3 Likes