Games lose FPS on long sessions

As the title says. I’m having an issue where the games I play lose FPS the longer the program is running.

The two examples I have are Detroit become human where the game will adaptively keep lowering my shaders and FPS over the course of a long play session usually becoming unbearable about 5 hours in.

And War Thunder starting at 100FPS roughly on a fresh launch and slowly dropping down to 30FPS after about 3-4 hours I’d estimate.

I’ve tested both of these in my windows environment and have no issues with them.

I’m running an X570 chipset with an AMD R7 3600X with a Radeon 6800XT GPU so my specs are not low.

I don’t believe it’s hardware related. It’s certainly not thermal throttling or a memory bleed. The temperature for both my CPU and GPU stay rather static.

I’m at a loss as to what could cause this problem so I’m here to see if anyone experienced something similar in the passed.

I’m also a major Linux newbie having only used Manjaro, POP and EOS for about 6 months. I’m unfamiliar with formalities and requirements for spec and log posting so please accept my pre-emptive apologies.

Thanks.

Welcome aboard! :rocket:

Hmm…Well it’s weird, certainly that would be most logical conclusion when it comes to time = degraded performance…

Other possibility might be RAM errors due to voltage instability or overheat (i’ve seen that on some DDR3 systems rarely), What’s your RAM brand / model?
Have you tested it with Memtest?

Is it Sream or Wine?
If Wine - have you tried different Wine version or TKG / GE?

Which desktop environment are you on?
I suggest monitoring RAM usage in task manager or htop to check for memory leaks.

1 Like

As for my RAM I’m using 3600MHZ DDR4 patriot viper. I have XMP enabled for 3600MHZ. I haven’t tried a memtest.

I’m using steam for War Thunder as the proton version doesn’t work and Proton 6.14 GE for Detroit. I’m not sure what TKG is.