Fstab automount and permissions confusion

Hi all,

I’ve been cruising along on EOS on both of my laptops for a few months now. As a credit to this community, this is the first time I’ve felt completely unable to find a solution to what I’m trying to accomplish (though it seems like it should be a simple matter)

I recently installed a fresh WD Blue 1TB M.2 NVME drive into one of my laptops for the purpose of media and Steam library storage for both the EOS and Windows installs on the machine. I’m using the drive as a single partition. From what I’ve gathered for cross-platform compatibility, exFAT or NTFS are the best options for formatting and I have tried both in all of the following scenarios. I’ve had no problem figuring out how to partition the drive, and I’ve been getting my feet wet with fstab and successfully have it formatted and mounting at boot to where I want it to be, but that’s where my luck and rudimentary Linux knowledge has seemingly run out.

Upon getting it mounted the first time, I immediately tried to get Steam on Linux set to use a folder there instead of where it had been, and got the “New Steam library folder must be on a filesystem mounted with execute permissions” error. The solutions I’ve found for this are all suggesting adding “exec” to the fstab options, but unless I’m doing something wrong that doesn’t seem to have an effect.