Finally installed EndeavourOS

I’ve been wanting to try EndeavourOS for ages but I was too nervous to make the leap from the comfort of Linux Mint on my ten year old ThinkPad.

I bit the bullet today and installed the Cinnamon edition, although my main desktop is running KDE Neon, the ThinkPad is basically used for playing music, music videos and running a browser.

I don’t know why I was so hesitant, the install was a breeze and apart from having to install VLC, Rhythmbox, Plank, QT5 Settings and QT5-stylesplugins it was ready to go!

It did fail to build GWaei though (Japanese dictionary) but I don’t really need it on that machine, I use Kiten on my desktop.

I’m an OS/2 Warp 4.5 refugee who migrated to Mandrake > RedHat (then Fedora) and then onto *buntu based distros. Time to learn something new!

13 Likes

Good on ya for taking the leap, hope you enjoy

1 Like

BTW I’m not an expert but am always happy to try steer you in the right direction for help if you ever need it

2 Likes

OS/2 Warp! Now that brings back rock solid OS memories compared to it’s peers of that day/era.

The Arch wiki is a great resource of information. As is the search function on this forum too.

1 Like

Welcome to the purple side :enos: :enos_flag: :partying_face: :tada: :balloon:

Cheers guys!

The last windows version I used for any length of time was Windows 3.11 :slight_smile:

I have a copy of OS/2 Warp 4 running in Virtualbox on this (My Neon) box!

I don’t think I’ll be running into much trouble (Touches wood) but who knows, eh?

Almost time for a beer run!

3 Likes

Welcome to the community!

2 Likes

Welcome @Beerislife

:wink:

2 Likes

@Beerislife

congrats on leap + welcome to Endeavouros community. Arch like swim for 1st time ( you sink or swim ) Endeavouros help you float if start to sink. Give it time you be swim with the rest. Hope you enjoy leap of faith :vulcan_salute:

1 Like

new-to-arch

3 Likes