Failed unmounting while installing

Hi, this is my first time using any Linux distro at all so I’m sorry if I’m not familiar with any terminology

I’ve been running EndeavourOS on VirtualBox to test it and I went through the installation and selected i3wm, KDE-Plasma, printer support, and HP printer packages and everything went ok until it reboots to finish installing. Then it gives me this error:

(Failed Unmounting /run/archiso/bootmnt)

Then it gets stuck in that same screen and doesn’t let me do anything

Do I have to give it more time? How can I fix this in Virtualbox and if I can’t, will it successfully install if I install it on my actual PC? Thank you!

That error shouldn’t be a huge problem. Just reboot the VM.

I agree with @dalto .

Should I save the snapshot of the vm before I click reboot? Again thank you very much for helping me

I wouldn’t. It shouldn’t be a problem and even if it is, you would just be taking a snapshot of the current state which probably wouldn’t help anything.

That being said, it won’t hurt to take a snapshot so…feel free. :slight_smile:

So it made it a little further this time but still won’t run past the reboot screen (or whatever it’s called lol)

Still Can't

At the bottom it says “soft lockup” and that one of the cores I gave the VM (5 in total) “got stuck”. How can I fix that and will the same problem occur if I install Endevour into my host pc since it has more cores? That is, if that’s what’s even really the problem.

Just shutdown the vm and then restart.

Screenshot_20211105_180632

What do you mean? Are you reinstalling? Just reboot into your already installed OS.

Installing in a VM is useful for you so you can see how it works before attempting on real hardware. However, it isn’t really a test of what will happen on real hardware.

That first error you received is meaningless. The second one is a bit more concerning but may be related to the VM itself.