External soundcard / DAC for Linux wanted

I would like to finally replace my ALC887 onboard chip with an external DAC. Condition: Connection to the board only via USB. Price limit approx. 150,00€.
Earlier under Windows I once had an ASUS Xonar U7 (but broke after 2 years). Supposedly, the support under Linux is not good either. I looked at a Pro-Ject USB Box S, but that can only 16-bit Delta Sigma.

https://www.pro-ject-shop.de/usbboxs.php

That seems very outdated to me. What do you have experience with, what can you recommend?

I use an M-TRACK 2X2. Works fine, doesn’t require drivers to run, and connects via USB C. There is a cheaper version if you do not need the XLR connections, and prefer standard USB.

I have no experience with the ALC887 or the Pro-Ject, so I cannot provide comparisons to those.

If you’re also looking for software to improve your audio, I can recommend Easyeffects or Viper4Linux.

2 Likes

Here are some options.

As one can see, there is quite a price range on DACs. The one thing about Crutchfield, they do not sell junk. If they offer something, it is usually good quality. Although I don’t know about shipping to Germany.

If you only want improved output for a headphones, I have the AudioQuest Dragonfly Black and it works really well on EndeavourOS.

Pudge

1 Like

Headphone is not sooo important, I’m more interested in bypassing the old ALC887, since there are now software problems:

@ USB C … my output on the board is only USB A, is that feasible with a simple adapter?

Simple adapter should be fine. The cheaper version is USB A, if you don’t want to use an adapter.

Edit: looking at the 2X2 specifications it seems it does include a USB C to A cable in the box, so no worries there.

1 Like

How does it behave when connecting active speakers to a DAC with integrated amplifier? My speaker system has a built-in amplifier in the bass module.

I have now shortlisted this DAC:

https://www.fiio.de/headphone-amp-dac/fiio-k5pro/